Montessori World

An educational blog for children and adults

Religious or Liberal?

I have always ponder on the best way to teach my child (when I have one) the right way to live life on this Earth. Do I teach him/her about the religion that I have on my MyKad? Or do I preach about the liberal aspect of free living, not binded to any strict secular rules, as long as peace and justice is maintained on this earth?

The Christians send their young ones to Sunday school; the Buddhists bring their children to Dharma class; the Hindus make sure their offspring follow them to the temple; the Muslim is very strict of making sure their children attend Muqaddam and graduate in their Quran studies at an early an age as possible.

What kind of religious education shall I give to my child?

December 26, 2007 - Posted by | family, holiday |

10 Comments »

  1. well, Rani, i just preach what i think is right, regardless of any religion. I am a buddhist myself but not fully aware of the 100% dhamma knowledge. But one thing we can know for sure…just do good, and u will get good in return. Easy as that..hehe…

    Comment by chinnee | December 27, 2007

  2. Religion sadly is the main cause of all the wars in our world.

    i am a catholic. i believe there is God (or a being greater than man).

    All religions teach us good and to learn how to love each other. However, we should not force others to take on ones religion, except pass on through our children, i guess.
    Children and people learn by example. “Do as i say and not what i do” is hypocritical.

    Respect and love one another is most important. It doesn’t matter what religion, colour or country one comes from.

    Also teach our children to love our creatures and our environment. Money is not everything, just a means of happiness.

    Have a good new year.

    Comment by fm | December 29, 2007

  3. chinnee: isn’t there a time when u don’t know how to draw the line between good and not -so- good?

    fm: Everybody learns by example, therefore role-modeling is such an important tool in society.

    Comment by rani | January 21, 2008

  4. I think I will leave it to her own choice as religion is a very serious and complicated things that we need to truly believe and go deeply to reap the benefits.Anyway, that’s just me! I guess there will be no right and wrong to any choice we made regarding this issue. 😛

    Comment by Everyday Healy | January 22, 2008

  5. We as parents ought to do our duties to teach them right from wrong. As long as we know we have done our best to educate them spiritually, then we can be proud of ourselves.

    Comment by Giddy Tiger | January 24, 2008

  6. always give children a liberal, outlook. For us free thinking westerners who are not shackled by cultural impositions, nebulous gods and other ideologies that have beed distorted to oppress and control the masses, particularly women – any educated perssn should encourage freedom of thinking and choice within a humanitarian framework. god is a construct and the sooner the world wakes up to that the better a place it will be.

    Comment by beepea | February 1, 2008

  7. e.Healy: U r cool. To leave the choice of religion to your kid.

    Giddy: Do the best we can. The rest is beyond our wits!

    beepea: wisely said! u must have read a lot of philosophical books.

    Comment by rani | February 26, 2008

  8. I’m not a strong Buddhist nor I a Christian. I just teach my kids those good moral values which i think all religious preach. Is my kids’ right to choose what they believe is best suit them (in term of religious practise)

    Comment by Kelly | April 15, 2008

  9. hi…my first time at ur blog…
    anyway this is a nice post..

    Comment by mmuurrllyy | July 1, 2008

  10. thanks murly. hope u enjoy reading my blog. i assume u hopped here from my SHANTI blog, hah? 😉

    Comment by rani | July 22, 2008


Leave a Reply

