Montessori World

An educational blog for children and adults

Play dough Experiment- Day 5.

I have a confession to make- I don’t make good playdough that can last for months. So, this is a challenge and an experiment I set for myself. Today is the fifth day since I started making the playdough using a method found on the  internet. I’m sharing the recipe here with the readers.

Recipe

  • 1 cup flour
  • 1/4 cup salt
  • 1 tbsp cream of tartar
  • 1 tbsp oil
  • 1 cup boiling water
  • food colouring
  • vanilla essence

Mix all the dry ingredients into a cooking pot or saucepan. Then, pour the boiling water into the mixture and stir with a wooden spoon. I find that it helps well for the dough to form by putting the pot on the hob under minimal heat, keep on stirring for 1-2 minutes until a mixture of mashed potato consistency is obtained.

The dough should be done by now and it can be very hot, so use the wooden spoon to knead the dough into one big ball. Leave it to cool.

When your hands are able to stand the dough’s heat, put a few drops of colouring and essence, continue kneading until you get a colored and scented ball of play dough.

Store in a tight container.

Now, this is where my dough experiment failed the last time for two reasons:

  1. The dough was in the fridge for a whole week.
  2. Nobody touched the dough for a whole week.

I was not able to monitor the consisteny of the play dough the last time because I made and gave it to somebody else. This time I made the play dough and kept half at my house so that I can see the changes, if there is.

Today is Day 5 and this is the dough.

DSCN1410

June 10, 2009 - Posted by | art and craft, family, holiday

2 Comments »

  1. I didn’t know playdough lasts for months 🙂

    Ours is usually just for one day

    Comment by marklim81 | July 19, 2009

  2. Lots of salt really helps to retain the age of the playdough.

    Comment by rani | August 14, 2009


Leave a Reply

